Pope Benedict XVI had canonised five new saints on October 11, 2009 Sunday:
  • Jeanne Jugan (1792-1879) of France, who founded the order of the Little Sisters of the Poor;
  • Jozef Damian de Veuster (1840-1889) of Belgium who moved to Molokai in Hawaii at the end of the 19th century, where he became known as "the lepers' apostle" for living on a colony for 16 years until he himself died of the disease;
  • Polish archbishop Zygmunt Szczesny Felinski (1822-1895);
  • Dominican, Francisco Coll y Guitart (1812-1875), Spanish monk; and
  • Trappist, Rafael Arnaiz Baron (1911-1938) also a Spanish monks considered as one of the greatest mystics of the 20th century.
Jozef Damian de Veuster (1840-1889) cannonized by Pope Benedict XVI
On April 26, 2009, Pope Benedict XVI had also canonised five Christians: Father Arcangelo Tadini (1846-1912), Sister Caterina Volpicelli (1839-1894), theologian Bernardo Tolomei (1272-1348), Gertrude Caterina Comensoli, (1847-1903), all Italian; and the fifth was Carmelite monk Nuno de Santa Maria Alvares Pereira (1360-1431) of Portugal.